Is it possible to switch gender with Alter Self 5e?
By modifying your appearance, you can change the appearance of your face and appear to be the opposite sex. But it isn’t the case. It has the potential to change your sexuality. It has the potential to alter your sexuality or the physical bodily parts you possess. It has nothing to do with your physique, but rather with your mentality and how you see yourself. Let’s get started with the Alter Self 5e spell.
What is the best way to use Alter Self with Druid?
You can use an action to stop one consequence of the spell and then switch to another, according to Alter Self’s words. Druids can cast Alter Self, Wild Shape, and then Alter Self to provide Wild Shape the ability to transform into a beast form. Can a Druid who has pre-cast Alter Self change the look of the creature they wild shape into?
For this combo, I haven’t been able to find “designer intent.” It must, however, be explicit and enforceable through rules. There’s no reason to read it in a way that exaggerates the significance of what’s going on. The following are the main components of the Alter Self description:
It is possible to halt one act while the spell is active in order to benefit from the benefits of a new one.
Furthermore, and specifically with relation to the ability to change one’s appearance:
During the duration of your spell, you can use the spell to change your appearance once more. It could be a way for the Druid to conceal the monster they are now converted into’s degree of power. It can also be a Sub-Aquatic Dire Wolf, as well as other unique, exciting, and niche pairings.
If your character can do tasks while adhering to the rules of not modifying basic body plans through Change Appearance, the combo is fantastic.
Does Alter Self give you the ability to fly?
No, it doesn’t. The alter self spell’s Change Appearance section states (emphasis mine):
Change Appearance: You alter your physical appearance. You get to decide how you want to appear. Weight, height, and facial traits are all included. It also considers the sound you produce with your voice, the length and colour of your hair, as well as other distinguishing characteristics you may have. You can pass yourself off as a member of a different race, but none of your characteristics changes. You also can’t transform into a creature greater than yourself, and your primary form stays the same.
If you’re bipedal, for example, you won’t be able to use this spell to transform your look to quadrupedal. Let’s say you wish to change your appearance at any time during a spell’s duration. You can then use the spell to change your appearance in the same way as before.
The important thing to remember is that your body’s statistics do not change, and you maintain your current shape. The installation of large enough wings to allow you to fly is a big change to your body (humanoid). The quadrupedal aspect, I believe, demonstrates that a significant shift in the way you travel is not even considered.
Assume you are unable to turn your legs into arms (which is only a small change, assuming they work similarly). It’s also natural that you won’t be able to turn them into wings. The spell’s goal appears to be to make little adjustments, such as:
Reshaping the eyes, ears, hair colour, nails, teeth, claws, and other tiny modifications are all part of the skin pigmentation process. The ability to breathe water is certainly the most significant change. It is also feasible to obtain oxygen from any medium other than air, which is a second modest alteration.
The RAW also claims it is incapable of flight. In previous editions, flying was mentioned as a possible means of transportation, analogous to water. Fly using wings at a maximum speed of 120 feet when flying or 60 feet for non-flying motions in the 3.5 variant of the spell.
This feature has been removed in this version since it is not possible to do so in 5e.
Alter Self may add wings, but stats remain unchanged.
It is possible to transform your appearance into wings. However, you will not be able to fly because the spell expressly states: You can look to be a member of another race, even though your stats will not alter. It could, however, be judged to be in violation of the spell’s “your basic shape stays the same” provision. Depending on what the term implies for your DM, it may or may not be.
Is Alter Self more secure than concealing one’s self as at-will invokes?
No. One of the most crucial features of Disguise Self is that it can’t just alter your appearance (via illusion). It can, however, affect your clothing and other gear.
It’s also vital to keep in mind the inverse of this. Alter Self makes no claim of changing the apparel or equipment you’re wearing. That implies, depending on the extent of your alterations, you may not be able to fit inside the armour you’ve worn.
Based on how you pretend your DM is about the subject, your clothes will most likely no longer fit you. This is especially true when employing a rule like the “Variant: Equipment Sizes” rule. PHB p.144:
In most games, you can wear whatever gear you find during your journey as long as you stay within the rules of common sense. A robust half-orc, for example, would not be able to fit into a halfling’s leather armour. A gnome will be devoured by the exquisite clothes of a cloud giant at the same time.
The DM has the ability to make the game more realistic. For example, A suit of armour built for one person may not work without significant modifications. If an adventurer wishes to portray themselves as a guard, the uniform may be unsuitable.
Assume that explorers come across clothing, armour, or other items designed to be worn by them. To guarantee that the item is useful, they may request an appointment with an armorsmith or tailor, leatherworker, or analogous professional. This effort can cost anywhere from 10% to 40% of the total cost of the product. Depending on the amount of work required, the DM may use 1d4x10 or decide on a price increase.
Assume the equipment fails to satisfy your demands as a result of the spell’s effect. Any of your well-known gear or accessories, if they’re more conspicuous than your personal characteristics, could make you easily identified.
There are a few other things to think about as well.
Alter Self and Disguise Self can be used together to create a more convincing illusion by adding real physical changes beneath it. It’s worth noting that this is possible because Disguise Self isn’t a concentration requirement. That is an additional advantage over Alter Self.
It implies that Alter Self may fail sooner than expected. While Disguise Self can continue for a long time (particularly in combat or under stress), it does not allow you to perform other concentration spells.
What is the mechanics of Alter Self 5e?
You take on a new persona. You can choose one of the options below while casting the spell, and the effects will last for the length of the spell. You can close one choice in order to get the benefits of another while the spell is active.
Adaptation to the Water Gills and the webbing that runs between your fingers help your body adapt to an aquatic environment. It is possible to breathe underwater and swim at a speed that is comparable to walking.
You alter your physical appearance. You have control over your weight, height, and facial traits, as well as the tone of your voice. The length, colour, and texture of your hair will all be considered. Colour, hair length, and other distinguishing traits are examples of distinguishing characteristics. You can play as a different race, but none of your statistics will change.
Your primary form remains the same, and you don’t appear to be a creature of the same size as you. You can’t use this spell to become quadrupedal if you’re bipedal, for example. You can use your spell to change your appearance in this fashion as many times as you like throughout the course of the spell.
Weapons of Nature Spines, fangs, hairs, or whatever other natural weapon you choose can develop on your claws. Unarmed strikes inflict 1d6 bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage, depending on the weapon you employ, and you’re competent at striking without weapons. Finally, the natural weapon is magical, and you earn a +1 boost to your attack and damage rolls when you use it.